Introducing…

Hello! My name is Nicole Contaxis, and I’m currently in Washington DC as part of the National Digital Stewardship Residency. More on that later.

In general, I’m interested in digital preservation, the semiotics of computation and digital media, and the history and rhetoric of technology. Or, more clearly said, I spend most of my time thinking about how we communicate and the ramifications of both the content and nature of that communication. Some of this blog will cover these types of issues and will deal with technology and history more widely.

However, many blog posts will deal with my current project as a part of the National Digital Stewardship Residency. I am working at the National Library of Medicine on a project titled, “NLM-Developed Software as Cultural Heritage.” What that means is that I’m trying to track down all of the software developed at NLM and design a preservation strategy for it. Considering that NLM has a 40 year history of developing software for internal needs and for their users, I’ve got my work cut out for me. Nevertheless, I’m pumped. Software is a huge part of the lived experience, and I’m excited to play my part in ensuring long-term access to executable files.

Leave a Reply

